Feature Requests for Parameters, Patterns, Timeline

I’m new to Shapr3d but I liked it enough to get the Pro version, mostly because of how well it integrates with iPad. There are some thing’s that bother me though, which I believe are simple sort comings, but should be addressed for a CAD software, presented as user stories:

1. Parameters: I want to store a value in a parameter and use that parameter in dimension. Altering the parameters should alter the design too. If I design a tooth, extrude it and then alter the design(sketch) it should update the extrusion, and all of it’s copies.
  2. Repeating patterns: Not sure if that’s how it’s called in other cads. I want to be able to replicate a selection, for example a feature like a gear tooth that I want to have it repeated 35 more times on my gears circumference instead of having to do 1, then 2, then 4, then 8, then 16, then 32 and then 2 more. I should be able to say repeat this feature x times in a circle.
  3. Timeline: altering a past action should also update the current design, a-la Fusion 360

Thank y’all

2 Likes

I think most the examples you have given are exactly what you would find in parametric modelling.
(input boxes for numbers, the use of equations, rotational or linear patterning). These are not features/methods of direct modelling, as the Shapr3D app/program is.

With direct modelling there is no history or linking, you move a face, and the face has moved. There is no record of it moving, and it is not linked to a sketch.
The only exception to this non-associative approach I have found, is mirroring in sketches. It sometimes forces you to be creative with how you lay out designs. Although generally, the approach is keep the sketches as simple as possible.

I love the app and have found it very refreshing, but there is no doubt a huge amount of model creation, and especially editing time, could be saved with a few basic patterning commands.