# Thank you

**URL:** <https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/thank-you/33588>\
**Category:** Feature requests\
**Created:** [September 5, 2024, 7:52am UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/thank-you/33588 "2024-09-05T07:52:38Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![benaston](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/bcef8e/32.png) [@benaston](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/u/benaston)\
**Post date:** [September 5, 2024, 7:52am UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/thank-you/33588/1 "2024-09-05T07:52:38Z")

</div>

Firstly, I would like to thank you for Shapr3D and for your continued development of it. The history feature just saved my life.

I am in the habit of “tidying up” sketches used in the creation of objects. With the new version of the app this is highly dangerous because deletion of a sketch - in whole or only in part - can result in the total deletion of an entire object that you might have spent days or weeks crafting.

Please add a warning or change this workflow to avoid this kind of wholly unintentional and incidental deletion of objects.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Bob3DPO](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/7993a0/32.png) [@Bob3DPO](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/u/Bob3DPO)\
**Post date:** [September 5, 2024, 12:32pm UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/thank-you/33588/2 "2024-09-05T12:32:30Z")

</div>

Suggest you change your workflow and put your sketches into a folder, then hide the folder to “tidy up.” Also, before you close your project, undo is your friend…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![benaston](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/bcef8e/32.png) [@benaston](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/u/benaston)\
**Post date:** [September 5, 2024, 1:15pm UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/thank-you/33588/3 "2024-09-05T13:15:11Z")

</div>

The object might be hidden and the deletion effectively invisible before closing the project, meaning your undo suggestion is of limited use. The new history feature is a life-saver, but it should be impossible to have such a destructive side effect without informing the user.

I am terrified of deleting or even modifying sketches now, meaning my projects will get larger and larger over time as sketches accrete; it is even affecting my workflow to the extent that I will duplicate sketches to avoid touching existing sketches that might have side effects on objects. There has to be a better way.
