Thoughts on pricing for hobbyists

Hello!
I’m completely new to CAD and I’m approaching this from a hobbyist-angle because I purchased a 3D-Printer. I tried a few CAD programs on different platforms and find myself gravitating back to Shapr3D due to the very intuitive user experience.

I do somewhat dislike the SaaS subscription cost as hobbyist with no revenue stream from using the program, although I do understand that the company needs to make money. For now I’m only using the free version.

What would make me much more likely to purchase a subscription would be a hybrid-subscription model that unlocks certain features for lifetime-free use after a certain amount of subscription time has passed.
For example if one year of subscription would unlock high-quality STL export for lifetime non-commercial use and two years of subscription would unlock 3 additional saved models total for life, I would not feel like the money is completely wasted during times where I might not use the program at all for weeks/months at a time.
Thanks for your consideration and congratulations on a great program.

2 Likes

…had exactly same thoughts; using fusion360 before I was searching for something working on my ipad run into Shapr3D.

beeing a hobby user with an 3d printer and and my woodworking workshop some CAD tools would be helpful for now and then.

I really like Shapr3D with the ease of use with all the tutorials esp. for beginners.

but the free version is too limited and yearly subscription for more than 200 bucks is too much for my usage pattern. donˋt get me wrong - this product is great, but when using it only 5-6 times a year it is too expensive.

there is missing something in between the free and standard sub.

how about in-app purchases for certain features?

I would really like to use:

• export as image or pdf with measurements for my woodworking workshop
  • save more then 2 drawings (mybe change the limit to only 2 can be modified within a month)
1 Like