# Why are objects deleted when I delete or change a sketch?

**URL:** <https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/why-are-objects-deleted-when-i-delete-or-change-a-sketch/33540>\
**Category:** Modeling Questions\
**Created:** [September 1, 2024, 5:44pm UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/why-are-objects-deleted-when-i-delete-or-change-a-sketch/33540 "2024-09-01T17:44:40Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![benaston](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/bcef8e/32.png) [@benaston](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/u/benaston)\
**Post date:** [September 1, 2024, 5:44pm UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/why-are-objects-deleted-when-i-delete-or-change-a-sketch/33540/1 "2024-09-01T17:44:40Z")

</div>

If I create one or more objects from a sketch, they now appear to be linked to the sketch so that if I change or delete parts of that sketch, they are deleted.

Is this a feature or a bug?

Version 5.692.0 (7363), MacOS, ARM

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Leroy](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/e0b2c6/32.png) [@Leroy](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/u/Leroy)\
**Post date:** [September 3, 2024, 3:01pm UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/why-are-objects-deleted-when-i-delete-or-change-a-sketch/33540/2 "2024-09-03T15:01:21Z")

</div>

I think this is the way it works now. The new “history “ feature links things. If I want to move an object and delete the sketch, I now have to select copy, uncheck the “linked” symbol, and then move the copy. I can then delete the sketch, which also deletes the first shape. I dont’ like the “History” feature. It has given me headache and makes things go longer than I would like. Sometimes I need to open history , select “merge”, then after the merge I can delete things. Waste of time.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Oregonerd](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/discourse.shapr3d.com/oregonerd/32/8012_2.png) [@Oregonerd](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/u/Oregonerd)\
**Post date:** [September 3, 2024, 3:11pm UTC](https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/why-are-objects-deleted-when-i-delete-or-change-a-sketch/33540/3 "2024-09-03T15:11:32Z")

</div>

Further, you cannot copy a sketch or project it to another plane without it being linked to the original and the resulting body. Tested it yesterday. To me this makes absolutely no sense.

Update: It was brought to my attention that the projected copy of the sketch can be unlinked.
