Thinking about buying the software. Need some insight first!

Hello everyone, I am a jeweler entering the cad field. This software seems very intuitive and perfect for my line of work but im not exactly sure if shapr3d is right for me.

I would need to build out jewelery pieces. For example an engagement ring.

Would I be able to fully design a ring with exact measurements including prongs that hold diamond in place? If so i would need to convert the file to an STL and 3d print it. Is this possible ?

Ive tried looking for info and videos or people doing as such but no luck ! Instead ive seen people 3d model rings. But the models are just for asthetics and not practical for jewelry building as the gems are designed into the ring band with not seats or prongs.

Anyways, I would really appreciate any insight on this topic. Thanks for reading.

Do a ‘jewelry’ search on this forum. You’ll find many examples.

Shapr3D is ideal for creating jewelry. Once you’ve created your design, you export and choose STL or 3MF (if your slicer printer supports 3MF). I export to a FormLabs 3 resin printer, using a wax resin, which melts away when casted.

The issue im having, is the program suitable for creating small details like prongs? I have not seen anoyone create a ring with prongs on this software.

As far as I know the limitation is 0,0001mm for dimensioning a geometry (If you have a 3D-Printer with this resolution - let me know about the manufacturer and model-code)… From my experience most of the time the skills in using the particular software + creativity in modelling is the limiting factor - not the software itself.
I you can provide the community a (2D) drawing of a ring, I would expect more than one member happily proofing you that S3D is capable of doing this job.
That does not say, that you would be instantly be capable of doing that - there are many experienced guys with ingenious modelling skills here - but this is not the question that you want to answer.