2D Export could be more intuitive

Heya! this is my first post, please be merciful.

I’m a hobbyist/engineer and have purchased pro subscription.
Proficient in both fusion360 and solidworks mainly from works I have done in uni.

Recently I wanted to build a laser cut design and got it drawn fully on the Shapr3D.
It was good experience, I still need to get used to swapping between finger and pencil.

What bothered me was when I finish my design and ready to export my design to DXF/DWG.
It was way harder than the designing the model itself.

In Fusion all I need is to create sketches projected from body and hit export. Regardless of what the orientation is in the model. The exported drawing is on the orientation of the plane.

In Shapr3D after creating all the planes and project all the sketches, and hit export, I only get some of the faces that is facing the “top”. The rest are not usable (either squashed, or just one flat line). I actually have to rotate and align all the sketches to face the “top” before an export. This is very tedious.

There should be function where the projected sketch onto the plane are exported true to the plane. That way the model does not need to be “unfolded” and projected only a certain way.

Two of the face on my design were in an unknown angle, and I had to manually “guess” the orientation to get a not exact export. I had a plane that is already true to the sketch.

I hope my frustration is due to my lack of knowledge in the software.

Anyway, so far so good.

Regards

1 Like

Perfect!!! Exactly what happen to me last night. I wanted to export my 2D planes to blender. I’m have big issue exporting my file to moropholio trace. These two apps shown to be compatible sold me purchase this product. I like the product up til this part. Really need help

Glad, I’m not alone :wink:

Lets hope there is a remedy.

1 Like