Getting multiple objects in 3MF export?

I’m quite new to Shapr3D and currently testing it.
My goal is to design things that I can then export into a 3MF file to load that into my slicer software (Bambu Studio) and 3D print it.

For one of my first projects I went into sketch mode, draw some area, let’s say a rectangle. Exit sketch mode, extrude it a few mm upwards.
Now double tap on the top face to create a text onto it. Exit from sketch mode again and extrude the text 0,36 mm (for three layers of 0,12 mm later).

Export that to 3MF and I get just one single object in my slicer. :frowning:
Well, in my items list in Shapr3D I see that I have just one body. The base extruded rectangle and the text are one body.

So, question: How can I make these two bodies and/or export this to a 3MF (please no STL) file so that my slicer recognizes two objects, the base and the text? Because I want to print these two parts in two different colors.
(I know that I can paint a second color onto single faces in the slicer but that’s a tedious task for 3D text faces.)

Thanks so much!
Stefan-

Hi Stefan,
In this case, when you extrude, you want “new body” and not “union”. You can do this when you extrude the text (there is a little icon) or, you can edit history on your current single body. To edit history, open the panel (icon looks like a clock face) open the details of the second extrude, and change union to new body.

Either way you do it, there may be more than 2 bodies. If your text characters do not touch, you’ll get a new body for each character.

Let me know if you need a video to clarify.

2 Likes

Awesome, @Bob3DPO, thanks so much for this valuable hint!
I got many new bodies, one for each letter, like you said. I grouped them in Shapr3D but in the exported 3MF each letter is a single object. That’s okay.
Or is there a way to have just two objects in the 3MF file, the base body and the text with all its letters? :flushed: