Match corner curvature

Hello - I am new to the program as I have only been using it about a week. I am attempting to design a window screen frame for a boat’s porthole but having some issues getting the curvature of the interior corners correct. In the attached photo I want to make the boarder a consistent thickness all the way around and bring the interior rounded corners inwards a little. In other words, I want the red arrow length to be the same 8.6684 length as the two point to point measurements shown by bringing the inside corner in as shown by the green arrow. So far the only thing I can seem to do is mess up the chamfer or make the entire boarder all the way around thicker (but the corner distance is still shorter). Is there a way to “fill-in” part of the corner or lessen the radius of the curvature?

Offsetting the edge at the Sketching stage should give that result.

It’s better to offset outwards rather than inwards. The corner curve maintains its shape better as its size increases when offsetting outwards. Offsetting inwards/smaller can result in the curve being different than the original one.

I couldn’t use the measure tool as there was no mid point on the curve, so I had to find the mid point by drawing some lines.

As you can see, 60mm consistent.

I hope that is of some help.

1 Like

Short clip showing the difference in practice.

1 Like