Move spline control point in more than 2 axis

I am adding a cable to the front of a vehicle and using a spline to lay this out. But I’m only able to move the control points in 2 axis. This means I can’t follow the shape of the vehicle. I’m fairly new to the software so maybe I have something locked or an axis turned off? I’d appreciate any help with this. Thanks.

Hi @ttnova Welcome to the Forum :sunglasses:

I have been looking for a solution to a similar situation.
Sketches can only be placed on a Plane. The Splines shown are two separate Splines.
To achieve the result desired would, from this ScreenShot, seem to suggest that the Spline would have to be suspended in mid air, but of course there are no means available to achive a result:

Tools > Sweep looks like this:

Attempting this when the Planes are at 90º to one another seems to reject the second Spline being created [?] all I can say is that it was attempted several times and failed.

To transition between the two 45º Planes it seems that a few+ acute angled planes would be necessary. That does not seem practical.
The Team will hopefully jump in on this with an official answer.

ADDENDA:
A possible alternative to this problem if the ‘vehicle’ has a Body or Bodies that can be utilised in the manner shown:

Add > Construction Plane above the Body and Sketch the path of the ‘cable’ when looking directly downward:

Use Tools > Project

Happy S3Ding :+1:

1 Like

[Gelphyn] thanks for the reply and spending time thinking about this. I really appreciate it. The projection method is a great idea. I’ll give that a try.

But still hoping there’s a way to manipulate the spline points in three axis. I do this often in 3ds Max and it’s great for cable, wires, etc. But can’t use Max on my Ipad sitting on the couch :slight_smile:

Thanks again.

@ttnova
Glad to hear you are giving it a try.
In my project there are nil Bodies to accept the Projection.