Brain melting please help

Hi I’m new to 3D design and I’m trying to create the attached shape I can model it flat but can’t get the facets to work.I’m sure it’s quite simple but have had no luck so far can anyone suggest how I could go about this please image|375x500](upload://sagjPLXFneGDa82u7IAtHZIFA2S.jpeg)

Hi can you upload the image again? I think the code got mangled last time…

Hello sorry about that picture is now attached

Thank you

Just create a single Tetrahedron body then use rotate function to complete the design. Of course you have to do some mathematics.

That will result in curved sides. If I understand the goal, it’s to have flat triangular facets. I think you’ll have to create a three-sided pyramidal shape, make 11 copies, union them together to get the “Star of David” core. The other facets appear not to be equilateral triangles, so they’d have to be created separately.

I did mine by figuring the cut angles and rotating + subtracting bodies from a cylinder. You have 3 different cuts. I would approach it like a 6 sided object. Once you have the correct angle, simply rotate the the flat body 60 degrees and subtract. (see the top 6 triangles and the bottom 6 below them?) That will achieve the crown cuts. Then you have to figure the angle for the 12 upper girdle cuts.

In mine (see below) I drew a side profile on a construction plane, rotated it to create the 8 main features. I created a construction plane at the girdle and drew a top profile. That helped me figure the cut angle with the visual profile and top drawing. Note: you can create a construction plane between 3 points (See the triangles? :wink: from those I created a construction plane drew and extruded a body to cut from the cylinder, rotated 7 times and cut. I did this for each of the main cuts). Now some of the complex girdle cuts I couldn’t find the correct angles documented so I guessed.