Need help designing a model

Hello,

I am new to 3D modeling and new in Shapr3D. To get in touch with the app I have downloaded a PDF with some sample models I am rebuilding. The first 3 models weren’t a problem but at the fourth one I don’t know how I can do this.

Perhaps anyone of you can give me some hints how to do this. I have attached a screenshot of this model.

Thanks in advance
Thorsten

1 Like

One way to do it, would be the loft tool.
You can start with two square bodies on different heights and combine them with the loft tool, you will have then the pyramid body.
You can hollow out the massive body with the housing tool, (don’t know if thats the correct term, I’m using the german UI).

Hope that helps a little bit

Matthias

Hi Thorsten and Matthias,

welcome to the forum.
Loft tool is one way to go.
Coffee break for me, here is a short video showing an other way.

2 Likes

First create 3 blocks to the dimensions specified.
Then adjust the top face of the middle block to meet the edges of the top block.
Then shell the middle block to the correct dimensions.
Finally, chamfer the corners of the bottom block and drag a hole through the top block.

(You could also shell the top block and middle block as one just as @PEC did in his example).

Took just a few minutes over coffee.

1 Like

Just an observation… I noticed you used the ‘draft’ tool but this will give a specific angle and it’s difficult to obtain the desired dimension at the top this way.
Personally, I would switch to side view, select the corner of the middle block and drag the desired distance to meet the top block to get an exact dimension.

Btw, how do you upload a video of this length? I’ve tried uploading in the past but the maximum file size is 10MB. I’ve tried reducing both the resolution and quality and find it difficult to reduce any video to under 10MB

1 Like

Oh, thanks a lot. That helps me and I will try it out later.

2 Likes

You’re welcome.