Chair back frame in steel rod

Hello everyone. I am a product design engineer. My job involves engineering products such as chairs and armchairs. Sometimes, I start from photos, and other times, I come up with the designs myself. Shapr 3D is fantastic, but despite my efforts to use it, there are some shapes that I can’t seem to create. Let’s take, for example, the frame of a chair’s backrest, as shown in the photo. It’s made from steel rods, but I’m not sure how to create the design. I have no idea, even though I’ve tried using commands like LOFT or SWEEP. Can you help me? Thank you.

1 Like

hello Matteo! i did a similar project earlier, i modeled a bike rack also made from steel rods. i ended up using the sweep tool a lot, i drew a small circle and after selecting the face and the sketches the sweep tool created these curved cylinders for me. they mimicked the steel rods perfectly, i even 3d printed one as a dummy rack for sewing.

1. project a simple sketch onto a cylinder:

1. select an edge first then use the add plane tool (it’s gonna be perpendicular to the edge automatically:

1. draw a circle on the newly created plane, select the face and the edge and use the sweep tool:

1. repeat this with all separate curves. a “separate” curve can contain multiple lines, you can select more before using the sweep tool. you can think of a separate curve as what you’d need to have as a separate steel rod. no junction for example. in this case you need to have 4 planes with 4 small circles and 4 bodies:

1. hide the cylinder and the sketches, and finally merge your bodies. you can even add steel material in the visualization mode:

4 Likes

this is fun

4 Likes

Nice work gex.

I’ve done similar recently for a fire guard, and previously for handlebars. Project tool makes it fun.

2 Likes

Same method for the handlebars on this electric motorcycle concept I made last year.

4 Likes

i needed to finish this