Coming from Sketchup and finding my marks>

Hi there,

I’m new to shapr3d and would like to know if I can change the way I’m drawing a line I’ll explain :
Most of the time I don’t need to be precise at the 1/64th. I would love to have the option to draw by 1/16th or 1/32nd or even 1/8th but when I draw a line it’s down to the 1/64th.
I feel like it is probably not the first time someone ask this question so please if you feel like moving this toping in the right place do it.
If the option doesn’t exist yet please think about it.

Thanks.

Zoom out or in on the screen until you see the scale you want in the upper right corner. Then tap on it and lock that scale. You can turn on or off the snap to grid in the lower right corner, settings.

2 Likes

Thank you McD I appreciate your help.
The problem is that it doesn’t lock my drawing by the 32nd or the 16th or whatever I want it to be.
Is there a place where I can pitch the idea? It’s really a feature that I liked on Sketchup.
Thanks.

Out of curiosity, why are you using fractional inch measurements? Woodworking?

Nico, have you looked at the U shaped magnet icon in the lower right (or left if you changed to left handed), and tried adjusting the snap features? McD

Hi Oregonerd,

Do you leave in Oregon? I’m a welder/fabricator so yes it’s technically the same as woodworking when we talk about measurement.

Yes I have. It doesn’t change anything. I know we mostly all enter our measurements when drawing but sometimes I like drawing at the right measurement right away. When you are down to the 64th it is just a pain and you decide to just enter your measurements.

Yeah, Oregon Coast. I’m an old builder in a former life. I stop at 32nds. :slight_smile:

Constantly having to convert back and forth from SAE and Metric in Shapr for my designs. Thinking in inches and converting to Metric for my Printer.

I’d like to see us just switch to Metric. But the retooling cost would be great I suppose.