Extrude imported dwg file and other questions

Hello. I’m very new to Shapr3D.
My work involves drawing existing buildings and working on them in 3D. I do this on an iPad Pro using the Apple Pencil and after trying for a while I have some questions:

1. Once I’ve imported a plan to Shapr3D from a .dwg file, how do I extrude the walls so they’re in 3D? I tried to trace the walls on the imported plan so I could extrude them, but this doesn’t seem to work.

2. Once the plan is imported, if I exit that project and try to open it again, the whole screen goes foggy and there’s a blue circle in the middle with the Shapr3D logo in it. It just freezes that way. All I can do is shut down the app and reopen it, but if I try to open that project again, the same thing happens.

3. How do I select a whole plan that is made up of many lines? Trying to tap on each line is very tedious and if I make one mistake, I have to start the whole process over again. Is there a tool for selecting a group of objects?

4. I modified the .dwg file in AutoCAD Mobile (on the iPad Pro) and tried to import it, but there’s nothing there. The “Layers” menu that appears at the side of the screen shows 0 for sketches and 0 for Defpoints.

Sorry if any of this is covered in the tutorials, but I wasn’t able to find anything.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Hi - welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

1. Once imported, go to 3d view, select a closed sketch and extrude it. If it doesn’t work, can you please send a video of the problem

2. If you send the dwg file to support@shapr3d.com we can investigate the issue. Hard to tell from this description, but probably we can fix the workspace.

3. Double tap or long tap any line and it will select all connected sketches
    This article has some visual aides to help you: https://support.shapr3d.com/hc/en-us/articles/360009920039-Selecting-and-moving-sketches