Fade form from one sketch/body to another?

Hi Shapr3d community.

I am new to the software, but I am loving it and the simplicity so far.

I am currently working on a design project for some glasses. I have some troubles to figure out how to make the front frame with all the bends and curves etc.

Is it possible to use one sketch for a starting point of a new body, and then a second sketch as the ending point of the new body?

See attached photo, as you can see I would like to transition the first design to the second design in one body. I hope it makes sense what I am trying to accomplish, otherwise ask away.

Thank you.

/ K

hi @bashma

Welcome to the forum.

The Loft tool is doing exactly what you ask for “use one sketch for a starting point of a new body, and then a second sketch as the ending point of the new body”, but I’m not certain it is what you really need at present.

From your screenshot, I guess you want to use the horizontal sketch to shape the glasses. The best solution is to extrude this sketch vertically and choose the intersect mode to intersect it with the existing body.

I suggest to have a look at

Best
PEC

1 Like

Hi @PEC

Thank you for your reply. I have messed around with the loft tool. And it seems to do the trick on very basic shapes.

When I try to apply the loft tool on my two slightly different designs, I get the error “Operation failed because the resulting body wouldn’t be valid”. Anyone who can explain to me why this would not be a valid body, and what to fix before I can use this tool?

I have seen the tutorial thank you, but they do not adress this issue. Extrude and intersect works fine :+1:

1 Like

I think that’s because you have holes in bodies or sketches you’re trying to loft.
Try to make holes after loft.

2 Likes

Hi @Xdrakosha

Thank you very much for taking your time to record this. This basicly solved my issue and I can now use the loft tool. :+1: