How can I get my edges rounded?

Hello there, I hope it is ok to post here, as long as I am still evaluating if I can achieve the desired skills in 3D modelling with shapr 3D. I did not yet switch to pro plan, I am a total beginner with 3D modelling, never have tried to model anything more than a cube with blender :slight_smile:

Now shapr 3D looked so easy to me, that I have gathered the courage to give it a try.

So far I have spent around 3 days now, trying to build a kitchen knive from an image. So far it is not that bad I find, but I really could not solve to get the knifes grip rounded. I have really tried a lot.

From that point, it is really impressive how simple it is to model with shapr 3D.

The best results I achieved with sweeping a shape along the grips path. But somehow this is not very clean. I guess it is because my base sketch is not accurate enough.

Is there any advice how I can achieve to get the grips edges rounded up accurate? Without that messy results?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

1 Like

䜠ćș”èŻ„ä»Žè‰ć›ŸäžŠè§Łć†łé—źéą˜ă€‚

I used the ‘chamfer/fillet’ tool to get this result
 (fase/verrundung)

2 Likes

Hello Steve,

thank you for providing those examples.

When I try to do that, I get that errormessage saying like „the object is not valid“

This must be related to the way I sketch I guess? Is there any rule how many points or steps a curve must have or not have?

Thx

1 Like

Have you tried typing in the dimension?

If you attempt to bevel further than the bounds of the body then you will get that error message.

It occasionally happens to me when I use my track pad and am not able to drag the bevel accurately.

Instead, try clicking the dimension box and type in the dimension you require.

Selecting all the edges to fillet could also help, from just the look of it, I think it fails on the pointy “corner”.

1 Like

Don’t know why @dusticelli’s failed at that ‘pointy’ corner yet mine worked out just fine.