Chamfer/Fillet one section of an edge

Hi all,

I am new to Shapr3D and I am following a brake disc/calliper tutorial from the Shapr3D YouTube channel and I have run into strange issue with the chamfer/fillet tool. I have spent the last hour googling different phrases, terms, and words and have not managed to find an answer.

I am trying to isolate/fillet just one “edge” (section of edge?) from a body, the same way it is done in the video, however instead of just that one “edge” being targeted, the entire loop that the section of edge belongs to is being filleted. Here are some images to hopefully help explain:

In the video they select just the one line/edge at the front, and so I do the same, although instead of just that edge being filleted, the entire loop gets filleted. I have followed the guide/video to a tee and I cannot see any reason for this to be happening. The only difference is they are on an iPad and I am on a Mac and the video is also 1 year old.

Any help would be very greatly appreciated as this has become quite frustrating!

Thanks in Advance,
Daniel

@DanielY

The short answer is, you can’t.

If there are tangent curves, all tangent curves will be selected.

Can you imagine how it would look if you put a fillet on just one edge? Something like this maybe?

Don’t you think it looks better if all tangent edges have a fillet on them?

Hi @mikeschn,

Thanks for your response.

I get see what you mean about the first image that you attached. I just don’t know why or how the guide I am following seems to have no issue doing it. See this timestamp: 3D Modeling a Disk Brake on iPad - YouTube if you are interested in seeing them do it.

The reason for doing this is it is modelling a brake pad and the fillet is purely for function and not form, hence why I wasn’t using a chamfer or fillet on all sides.