Text on a curved body

Hello

I’m brand new to Shapr3D - I’ve done a lot of the tutorials and I’m now trying to work out whether or not it’s the right tool for what I’m trying to achieve.

I’m wanting to apply text around a curved band (e.g. engraving the inside of a ring.)

I’ve produced the text in Illustrator and taken it into Shapr3D as a dxf. I’ve also modelled the body of the ring in the same project … now I want to project the text layer down into the inside of the ring.

Is this possible? I’ve spent hours trying to work something out. I wondered if a sweep would work but i have no idea where to start.

Any help would be SO appreciated - I’m on the pro trial so need to work this out before making up my mind.

Thanks!

Hi Naomi, interesting question. It’s doable, but not necessarily elegant. My suggested approach would be to create a plane for each letter, then place the individual letters on each plane. Then extrude them towards the ring, to a certain depth.

I’d begin with the center if the circle, and draw radial lines outward. Then create a plane, perpendicular to an edge at the end of those lines. Viewing one plane at a time, place a letter onto that plane. With the outline if the letter selected, push it back into the body of the ring. I hope this helps.

Thanks for replying so quickly, McD! I’ll give that a go.

I’ll let you know how I get on!

1 Like

Be sure to save your work by exporting it as a Shapr3D file, and give it a name. Then work on another copy of it. Just to be safe.

Another idea, would be to create the curved text in Illustrator, then import that curved text. Again, you’d move it along an axis, created from the center of the ring.

I wondered whether that would maybe be easier … I’ve been playing with the individual characters but it’s proving a bit of a nightmare :joy: I have two characters on the band and it’s taken me an AGE!

Will try the illustrator trick instead! Thanks again!