Trying to draw curved lines

I’m using the app on iPad with my Apple Pencil. I have imported a photo that I’m trying to trace but without freeform drawing it’s very difficult. I was following a video on Facebook that made it look very easy to create curves when drawing a hammer from a picture but I can’t get my points to move like the demonstrator. Every time I try to tap one of the dots it just draws a new line. I’m not clear which dot to move or how to move it. Unfortunately nothing is intuitive with this program.

Hi! To draw freeform curves, please select the Spline tool. While drawing the spline, please do not lift up the pencil from the screen just swipe it between the control points and push it towards the screen where you wish to create a control point.

Thanks for responding. Total newb to this world. What are control points? I’ve uploaded a few images of what I’m trying to trace. Should I keep the pencil on the iPad throughout the sketch? Do I press down the whole time or only every so often? Do you know of any videos that describe how to do this in detail? It’s not very intuitive to someone just starting out.

Let me share two videos with you below,
The first is about the spline tool, which lets you create curved lines. The pencil should not be pressed during the drawing of the curve, but you should not lift it off from the screen. Please only press it when the control points are placed.

The second video is about the adjustment of the splines, this is where control points are important. These are the points that you can move freely and deform the spline with.
If you have a tight corner, please do not place dozens of points next to each other, just make the curves longer as in the video below and trim the unnecessary ends from the lines.