3D Printer for around £300 that produces a tough plastic part?

Hello. I am ready to purchase one now. I need the material to be tough, as it will be used in an engineering environment. Reccomendations please. Regards Richard.

Hi Rick,

Here’s my 2 cents. I’m relatively new to 3D printing and did a lot of research early on as my requirement was to get a printer that is a workhorse and reliable as I am now doing freelance engineering designs for the toy industry. I ended up buying the Lulzbot TAZ6 for it’s bed size and reliability. I have used it almost every day with models created in Shapr3D. I recently decided to get a 2nd printer as a backup and bought the Prusa i3 MK3 which is considered a top choice for it’s price. I bought the kit version and it is almost fully assembled. Again, it is meant as a backup however I can run both at the same time as the workload increases.

I initially started looking at the lower price printers but I didn’t want to deal with a lot of tweaking and adjustments like bed leveling and upgrades and such as I just want to make parts for engineering models. I’m glad I didn’t settle for a lower priced printer. Others can add their recommendations as there are a number of printers that are reliable such as the Ultimaker but one has to consider the price-value component.

As far as materials go, PLA is the most common filament and it prints easily however it has a low melt point which means you cannot do any medium to high speed drilling nor machine sanding. Leave a PLA printed part on your dashboard on a hot day and it will warp like a vinyl LP (for those that remember LP’s). There are newer varieties of PLA with fillers and additives for more strength and heat resistance coming very close to ABS. I have had good luck with a higher grade PLA and have used a co-polyester filament from ColorFab but it can be a little difficult to print. PETG is another good material.