AAARRR creating a spoon

I’ve been using shapr for about six months and have had some really great results, but this one has really got me! I need to create a spoon. I have tried lofting, extrusion, intersect etc etc but can’t get what I’m after. There are 3 main curves…The non regular top view oval, the curve left to right of the belly and the curve front to back of the belly. I’ve been trying to sort this on and off for a week or so…I think I must be missing something obvious. Any thoughts on how I might sort this?
Thanks
Marcus

1 Like

@MM46
I may not be seeing the problem your Design looks fine, just a case of adjusting some curves and possibly positions to get what you want?
Looks like using your Sketch shapes for Lofting should work.
This a quick mock up using just Elipses:

Create the Handle, Subtract the Spoon ‘bowl’ and then Union.

I’m getting close but still having problems with the very last loft before shell. Whatever I do I can’t get it to round off smoothly…

@MM46
Love the superb render.

From your first post you showed a set of horizontal Loft shapes.
Have you tested the horizontal alternative?
By cutting below or above the horizontal centre line you could banish the annoying little ‘ripple’ effect of the last vertical loft. That is not to say that the last Loft horizontally will behave differently but any blemish there may be masked by the junction with the handle?

Just an idea, try to make body like an egg ( it’s a natural design😎) , with tangent circles , splines and revolve tool.
After it you can cut it where you want with subtract, then make shell.

Regards
A.

Gelphyn, yes I have tested the horizontal and may go back to that - blending with the handle will I think be sorted, but I’ll still have the other ‘eating’ rounded end to resolve. I might have to try a loft of the whole spoon bowl and handle in one
Thanks
M

Thanks JST
Yes that’s where I started, but the top view oval is different to the side view oval