Best 3D printer for a beginner (MacOS)?

Hi,

I’m completely new to modelling and i’ve been making huge leaps with my modelling skills thanks to Sharp3D. I’m a sculptor eventually looking to enlarge the small models I produce with the program but I need some advice on really the best printer I can get for my money. I would be looking to export the files form my ipad directly to printing, I have no skills with AUTOCAD or Rhino…

-Looking for a good support network.
-easy to print.
-easy to replace parts if they get damaged
-upgrade possibilities

for a beginner, what do you recommend?
I have an Ipad pro and a macbook pro 2017.

thanks.

Creality ender 3 is a good choice for both (wallet, easiness)
You may have a frightening time putting it together.
But keypoint is do not over-tighten things but do not let them loose.

thank you.

I’ve got watchmaker hands so lucky in that respect but how easy is it to assemble? stemp by step? like a lego?

Prusa is among the best but is more spendy than Creality. Prints better from what I have seen. I am running mine now. The slicer software is pretty darn good. You can upgrade rather inexpensively to multi-material. The kit takes about 4 hours if you are quick and 6 to 8 if you are meticulous. Every time I order parts or materials (I haven’t had to replace any parts, I like to have spares) it ships pretty darn fast in the US. I am really happy with my Prusa.

I really like the bed leveling and magnetic bed with spring steel sheet method of printing. I purchased an extra sheet so I can put a fresh one on can continue printing.
Many of the parts are plastic and printed y Prusa in house print farm. All STLs are available to for reprinting or modding.

2 Likes

Most 3D printers have great communities. Prusa live chat with their techs and sales reps works great.

1 Like

Another vote for Prusa.