Copying assets between projects

Hi, I am a jewellery designer and a lot of my designs share common assets. Is there a way to copy the sketches or shapes between projects without exporting to Dropbox?
So far I have been working on numerous items in the same project, and I think the performance of the app suffers because if this.
Thanks!

4 Likes

Not unfortunately AFAIK, and it’s a pity for you and I !!! but you can duplicate a project as a whole and use the parts you need for another project (del parts you don’t want). It’s more than nothing after all!!!

That’s a bummer. But thanks for the copying projects tip! Hopefully the lasso select tool will come out soon to make it quicker to clean up a detailed workspace. Cheers

2 Likes

+1 here for Copy items across designs

1 Like

Same for me. +1

I would design all parts that are used in all projects in one project file. And use that as a templete file. Then I would just make a copy of that Project, add the additional items to make the new design and so forth.
Coping an individual object from one project to another, such as a copy 'N past function would be nice.

John

Duplicate the Design containing the component that you need to use often see:

https://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/create-body-from-absence/7899/5

Then as @hamedtopic says above delete the objects not required.
Every Design needs a home [read workspace] it really is simple and efficient, the hard bit follows.
If you are going to create a lot of Designs of any kind, I certainly do, it is paramount that a good Filing System is set up using the iPad Files App, it is rather more tedious than Finder or Explorer but it works.
Little point in working hard on Designs and not being able to find them when needed. Done properly good filing practice will enable the required Design to be efficiently Imported in the the current Project.