Delete Sketches after creating a body

I’ve been using shapr for a couple of years on my iPad. With the new updates I’m finding the list of items in my files is getting out of hand. There are many sketches that remain around but I can’t remove them because that’ll destroy the body they were used for creation. I don’t like this big mess of old sketches causing to to scroll around looking for the bodies I want.
Is there a way to detach the sketch from the body?
Maybe you could add something like 3dsmax where I can “collapse” a mesh’s stack and then be freed of all the history?
I really enjoyed the simplicity of shapr but now find these extraneous sketches distracting and unnecessary. Thank you.

1 Like

You can display “Bodies” only in the Items list and that will hide the sketches from view if you don’t want to use them.

You might also consider creating folders in the Item list and organize your bodies however is most useful to you. Maybe move the sketches to their own folder.

I do suggest that you spend a little time if you can to learn about some of the new things you can do with sketches. They are a lot more powerful and useful now, and just ignoring may cause you to miss out on some helpful features.

3 Likes

Thanks Steve. I never used that filter at the top. All Items —> Bodies. Great tip. Right now I am putting my sketches in a single folder to keep them out of the way. I do want to be open minded to new workflows but right now I don’t see the power in leaving the sketches around. Is there one specially useful thing I can do by keeping them all? I do need to give the history undo a proper going over.

Hi Ted,

One useful thing you can do is change a body by changing the sketch. Say you extrude a sketch and later learn it should be a different dimension. Easy way is to change the sketch. Maybe you cut a hole into a piece by extruding (subtraction) and then want to change the position or size of the hole, all you need to do is move or resize the circle.