Exporting to stl and 3mf file formats

I am new to 3D design and the use of cad programs. Fifty years ago I was a draftsman for an architectural metals firm. I was very good at creating working drawings with pencil, ink and a drafting machine. Fast forward fifty years and I am really struggling to learn cad and 3D design for 3D printing. I have tried multiple applications and keep coming back to Shapr3D.

To my question and I have researched this on the forum and find other have had the same issue in the past. Once I design an item, then export and reimport it to my 3D printer slicer, the model has increased 10 times. I am using Bambu printer and their slicer. I found reading through here is that you should be using the 3mf file format. However when I use that format the model still comes out oversized. This does not happen on the other programs like Onshape. Am I doing something wrong? I hope someone can enlighten me.

Thanks,

Bill

It’s possible the slicer isn’t paying attention to the units information embedded in the 3MF file. What units of measurement are you using in Shapr?

I’m certainly no expert, but if it is exactly 10 times bigger, I would immediately suspect that the source is in millimeters and the destination is interpreting it as centimeters.

1 Like

Agree with @TheBum (your slicer does not read the unit, other slicers do) and @Steve : just select a unit 10 times bigger in Shaper before exporting in 3mf and the body should be of the correct size on the slicer.

I’ve checked that the 3mf file generated by Shapr3D contains the unit informations which are selected in the unit menu of Shapr3D.

For the curious ones, just export a .3mf file, replace the .3mf extension by .zip as it is actually a zip file, unzip and navigate into the folder to find the 3dmodel.model file, which is a .xml file you can open in any text editor, and you will get something like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>