Extrusion... not able to "push through" desired objects

Hi. I am brand new to Shapr and modeling, so I hope I am explaining this. Here is a simplified version of a woodworking joint I wish to create. This is what is happening (from left to right), and the last image is a photoshopped version of my goal.

1. This is one piece along one axis. The smaller square in the corner is what I wish to extrude up into the other axes pieces.

2. This image shows the other two axes/pieces, just for reference. My goal is to have a bit of the inner faces of those two knocked out.

3. If I pull up that inset square while those other objects are not visible, this is the result.

4. Mockup of what I would like.

I’m not showing it but if all objects are visible and I grab that inset square it is just the tiny piece (roughly 1/4 of the actual desired square).

Am I going about this all wrong? I’ve checked a bunch of tutorials and topics here in the forum. Thanks!

Hi @berghjon Welcome to the Forum :sunglasses:

When you Sketch the Rectangle that is destined to create your Joint, look for the Icon shown at the end of the Dimension Input:

Clicking on that Icon will reveal a Pop Up Option Menu:

Choose New Body and the Subtracted Space will fill in [Shown flipped through 180Âș:

Pull the appropriate Face to the Dimension required [in this case 7.5mm into the 15mm Material]:

Changed Color for clarity.
Use Tools > Subtract > Select Both Bodies comprising the Joint > Click Next > Switch to Keep Original Top Right:

Actually slide the Switch not as shown > Hit Done

Just shout if you need more help.

Happy S3Ding :sunglasses:

1 Like

Thanks @Gelphyn I sort of get what you’re saying it just doesn’t seem possible.