Having Trouble Making a Cross Hatch Grid

Hello all!

I’m a noob, with no CAD experience. I’m a quick study, and have been moving along with my project; an invention idea I am working to prototype.

But I reached a place where I could not figure out what to do.

I need a hex pattern inside of a circle on one of my planes. I made it all out of lines, finished it off, and went to punch it through, which resulted in the opposite of what I wanted. I need the squares inside the lines punched, not the lines, duh. Didn’t occur to me till I did it.

Can someone help me achieve what I am trying to make?
Here is an image of the plane I am dealing with:

I am not sure it’s completely clear based on this screenshot what you’d want to achieve and what happened – all I can see is a circle on the face of a cylinder? You mention hexes but then also squares. Could you maybe record a short video or take more screenshots in which we can see things in 3D?

Thanks for responding! I’m sorry, being new at this, I didn’t figure I would explain myself completely. I guess Hex Grid wasn’t the right choice of words. Crosshatch might be a better term.

I am making a blade of sorts. The product will be pushed through the blades and into the cylinder.

On my initial screenshot, there are 7 lines going in each direction inside the circle, those will be my blades, about a mm in thickness.

I was doing this on a separate plane and then going to push it through the disc above the main cylinder body, which will be merged with the main body in the end.

When I initially mocked it up, I made the lines and pushed it through, but that only made slices in the disk. I was like, duh, after I did it lol. I basically need a mirror of that. Instead of the lines pushing through, I need the squares to punch holes, leaving 1mm “blades”.

I hope this makes more sense. I apologize if I’m not describing it properly.

No worries, your explanation was great, I get it now!