Ipad / or Mac pro laptop

Guys,

I am a total newby to Shapr3d, but I have used other CAD packages for years, especially Solid Works.

From all the Cloud based packages, I want to start journey with Shapr3D.

My big question:
I want to get off the right foot, hence I want to tap off your experiance.
What is the best set-up for use?

I have an Ipad Pro (2021) with the apple pen and also the apple keyboard with touch pad. / Then I also have a 13” Macbook Pro (M1), obviously with touchpad and an apple mouse.

In limited time I have to start designing telescopes, which is quite a daunting task, as I 1st need to get used to the software.

What do you guys find is your most ease of use set-up? Ipad with pencil and ipad apple keyboard, / or MAc pro with apple mouse?

Looking forward to hear your experiences.
Nico

Hi Nico,

My neighbour and me tried some different setups to use shapr.

We tried to run it on a windows pc with standard keyboard and a 3d mouse:
→ the experience was not the same like use AutoCAD or other cad programs.

We tried to run it on an 27“ IMac with with apple mouse and apple keyboard:
→ it gives us an very bad experience. The controls are very bad.

Now we use shapr on iPad Pro (Me on iPad Pro 2021 and my neighbour on iPad Pro 2022) with apple pencils and sometimes with apple keyboard to use hotkey features.

We think this is the best setup to use shapr.

Hope its helpful for you.
/dereinzigwahre

I’m sorry to hear that. What was the issue?

Hi there!

Thanks so much for your response.
I really appreciate it. I have today started to use my Ipad Pro with pencil en keyboard. It does take time getting used to simple things, like panning, drawing lines… etc. The margins are fine between tapping, selecting and starting to draw a line.

My next challenge is going to be differentiating between parts / assemblies and making drawings from. :slight_smile:

iPad Pro with Apple Pencil and Magic Keyboard for me!

iPad Pro with pencil for me just can’t be topped.