Locked out of my designs at the job site! WTF!

I have a Business subscription and use this program daily - it’s my most important tool for fabrication. I’ve been giving glowing references to anyone who asks. Now, Shapr3D LOCKED ME OUT OF MY DESIGNS WHEN I NEEDED THEM MOST.

I spent 6 months designing and building a complex steel structure with at least 10 different designs and countless shop drawings. As the construction lead for the project, I relied on Shapr3D heavily during the build process, as a paperless reference for how the hundreds of parts bolted together. Just as I did in the shop, I planned on using my iPad instead of paper to train the build crew about the bolting systems and parts diagrams. But there’s a catch: the build site was in a remote area with no cell signal or internet connection.

When it came time to actually install, I had expensive heavy equipment, ready to lift these huge things into place. I needed to show my operator how the structure bolted together, so I booted up my iPad to give him the 3D view. To my horror, I discovered that Shapr3D needed to check my subscription status on the internet, and had locked me out of 6 months of design work. What’s the point of having a totally portable design tool if it doesn’t work without an internet connection???

So now I had to manage a complex 3-week-long build, with a crew of 20 people, as the superintendent, without any drawings. All because I didn’t have an internet connection to check my subscription.

My biggest project to date using this program, and I had to do it all from memory while managing a crew that had no idea how it went together because I was locked out of my drawings. What about people who live on the road and do designs? Would you ever think that someone might use a handy portable device in a place that’s not tethered to the internet???

Some people use this product in the real world, not at a desk. I expected better.