Memory problem editing internal gear

Hi

I have a fully loaded new 2021 macbook pro (M1 Max with 64GB of RAM and also a brand new top spec Ipad pro and I’m having memory issues editing an internal gear generated online. The processing is excessively slow and eventually I run out of memory at 171GB!

Activity monitor shows that 1 cpu is fully loaded at 100% (8 in total). The macbook doesn’t appear to be getting hot, no fans blowing. I get the same issues on the ipad

Unfortunately I can’t upload the .dxf file the online designer creates. I want to 3d print a harmonic drive
Shapr3d says there are 7000+ edges, not sure if that is significant?

I’m new to shapr3d so it is possible my workflow is inefficient ?

Can you send a link to the online gear program, and specifications of the gear? There are a few programs out there, and some really over complicate the edges.

Hi
It was geargenerator - I sent a copy of the dxf file I downloaded to the support team as well
It only supports dxf or svg but was very cheap

I saw the mcmaster page someone posted but they want $$$ for the same thing. I’m only hobby tinkering so don’t want to pay that price

I found if I import the dxf and export to stl it seems a bit better. I’m no expert in this stuff (although I work in IT architecture), I suspect there is a lot of hidden stuff I’m not seeing, but I could be wrong.

I’m not precious about the detail yet, just exploring the concept as there are a number of 3d printed harmonic drives, I wanted to see if I could design my own rather than copy someone else’s

Gear properties
Internal Gear:
Number of teeth* (N): 100
Pitch diameter* (D): 25
Diametral pitch (P): 4
Pressure Angle ¶: 27

Hi there! We have received the file, let me tell you the cause of the 7000+ edges.