Modify width of object in specific area

Hello group!

I am creating a curve for my son’s hot wheels track builder.
After various prints, I identified that I need to increase the space in the middle section of the curve to allow the cars take easily the curve.

All my curve is the same width. How to increase the width in the middle like the attached image? From 40 mm to 45?

Thanks!

Note: I am a beginner, the curve was made by a simple revolve of a sketch.

You will likely have to use sweep tool. Change the middle section of the curve to reflect you width requirements. The end and beginning will be identical, the middle cross section must reflect the width change. For smoother transition, more cross sections to sweep from will be better. Not easy, but it is what it is.

As @Oregonerd stated, Sweep is the tool to use. Here’s what I did.
First, I made a 90° sweep of the cross section of track just to show what you did when you used Revolve, then deleted it.

I made a new sweep with wider track minus the upper rail. I sketched a larger circle away and 90° to the center of the track. Then I use Project to create an arc so that the center of the curve at the arc is higher than at the ends. Now I used Sweep to make the upper rail. Then I did a Union of the outer rail and curved track. To finish I subtracted the non-essential extra curved track beyond the upper rail. Hope this helps.

4 Likes

Very elegant sir! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Using the method I described above, here’s a way to make it more dimensionally accurate.
My track is at an angle of 45°. I made a plane at 45° and normal to the center of the track.