New design issues might make me leave Shapr

I’m a non-technical self-taught user of Shapr3D on iPad since COVID lockdown - 4 years I guess now. This was my first ever use of any design software.

It was great, till it wasn’t. The last 4-6 months have been so painful to use, I’ve stopped designing from 3hrs/day to maybe 3hrs/month. I’ve read through a lot of these issues in the blogs, and could be linked to the “parabolic” transition (don’t know what it means), but can’t keep track of what is/is not solved somehow. Most common & in my eyes simple are the following;

Selecting with a pen is now a nightmare. So many attempts to double click per session & can’t find anything new in settings or my technique. Why is a simple action now a barrier to progress?

Extruding from a drawing, then the lines disappear. I have to go find which set of lines I want from the items tab. Why did this need to change?

Drawing a circle, creating an item, then moving the circle drawing outline, manipulates the created item. Deleting the drawing deletes the item. 2 different cases within this afternoon. Can’t work out how to get around it.

Lots of other little quirks which are 1 off & either hard to explain or I just found ways around it, but definitely a trend.

I don’t want this to be a rant, if I’m missing something please let me know or if the shapr techs can see this please take note.

Feels like either I stop designing or stop using Shapr3d, which feels like a terrible decision either way!

1 Like

Shapr is a means to an end. Don’t let some program inhibit your ability’s, change it up and come back later if it’s not working out. But never ever ever ever, let the instrument decide what song should be played. Likewise, a hammer will always hit your hand, given the choice.

2 Likes