Parametric, configurable vinyl holder

Now that we’ve opened up the history-based parametric modeling section of the forums, I will shamelessly cross-post this project here as well:

You can find more details, work-in-progress photos and even the original model in .shapr format in the HBPM side of the forums.

5 Likes

Looks nice! What’s your process for taking the files generated in S3D to the CNC machine? As someone who is trying to learn S3D for design fabrication I’m keen on developing a new workflow. I have been using illustrator and Carve up to this point.

Hi Crabtree Creative

I’ve been using S3D for three years for designs small and large for production on a CNC, 3D printer and occasionally laser cutting - oh and manual production too.

For the CNC my preferred workflow is to draw up the design in S3D, import into Fusion360 and use the CAM tools to generate the tool paths. I have only used S3D on an iPad to date which is such a flexible development environment,

I’d be interested to learn more of other workflows.

Thanks! The CAM for both the laser cutter I used for the acrylic endplates and the CNC router I used for the wooden bases worked the best from DXFs, so that’s what I generated. The best method to extract those was to create two planes that were dedicated for this, project the required bodies to them and then isolate and export the sketches that resulted from those projections as DXFs. I put everything in a single, normally hidden folder to make sure it’s not in the way. It’s a bit of a convoluted method but we’ll be working on simplifying this process, and it’s already a lot better in the parametric version as those projections are kept updated automatically. One thing that tripped me is that the DXFs had multiple overlapping lines when I projected the entire bodies and not just the nearest faces and that doubled the cutting time for the laser cutter (the CNC CAM was smarter than that).

1 Like