Pricing and new features

I’ve been subscribing for 2 years and have been loving it. I’ve been struggling to like parametric feature. I understand that all this development comes at a cost, I wish I didn’t have to pay for it tho, as I don’t need it nor do I like it. Yes I know I can just hide sketches.

I wish there was a subscription for those that don’t want this new feature at the old price.

I also want to point out that $500 Australian converts to $332 USD so we are paying more here for some reason.

My last payment was $239 USD and now it’s almost $100 more. (Maybe I got a discount, not sure) I can just see a significant price increase every year.

My renewal has bounced as I can’t afford the new price right now.

I can see that this an industry wide phenomenon. Hobbyists are getting pushed out as software companies are trying to charge higher and higher fees. Possibly justified as new features are added but maybe there could be a way to have tiers. And I’m not talking about restricting necessary things to make life hard, just not providing advanced features for a lower price.

It makes no financial sense to maintain two sets of code. Shapr is not a large company, so they have limited resources.

As someone who has had to maintain three or more major versions of a software set simultaneously, making sure changes get rolled into newer versions and not rolled back to older versions, I can tell you it can be a nightmare.

Forgive my ignorance, I’m not a programmer, know nothing about code, and overall just not great with new technology. Could you explain further why this is so? or at least explain why this would be maintaining multiple sets of code?