Scaling Question

Hey guys! (first post here, so here’s a bit of introduction)

My name is Tracy. I’m fairly new to 3D design, and very new to CAD type art. By day, I am an Art Director (graphic designer) at an advertising agency. By night, I like to tinker around with 3D design. I have done a fair amount of work on my Mac with SketchUp, but as soon as I saw a YouTube video of Shapr3D. I immediately sold my iMac and bought an iPad Pro. I’ve had the Pro since monday, and last night I finally had the chance to sit down and put some ideas down in Shapr3D.

I began designing a frame and arms for a mini quadcopter/drone. The process was very intuitive and I have immediately fallen in love with your app. I’m hooked for sure. But I can not figure one thing out, and that is scaling. I know how to scale using the Transform tool, and that makes the object overall larger or smaller. But what I’m looking to do (maybe this is because I’m used to 2D design), is I want to take my drone and keep it’s width and height, but make it longer only. Is there a way to do that?

I’ve added a pic of my drone where I currently have it. Please don’t judge or make fun! Like I said I’m new to this. Any tips would be awesome and completely welcomed. Thanks guys!

-Tracy aka TK3

IMG_0032

1 Like

Hi Tracy,

wow, great design. Love it :slight_smile:

Scaling, as you described, is not possible in the app. A workaround for this would be to separate your body into two halved in the middle and make it longer by extruding one of the faces - created through the separation - until it reaches the other half of your Body. Would this be a viable workaround in your scenario?

Thanks Daniel!

It’s a work in progress. I plan on purchasing a cheap quadcopter, disassembling it and then printing my own chassis and basically frankensteining a custom quadcopter. haha.