Tutorials are not up to date, Perpetual subscription, corporate ethics

I just downloaded Shapr3D a couple weeks ago and explored a bit on my own. (MacBook)

I am prepared to purchase a CAD application for freelance design projects. I’ve been a mechanical designer for decades, Unigraphics, SolidEdge, SolidWorks, AutoCAD and a few more obscure systems as well. But there’s no way I can afford these to start a part time business.

I’m using the free version so I can get the basics before starting the 14 day trial which is ridiculously short by the way for those of us with jobs and families.

Also, I see the trial automatically rolls into a purchase by default, requiring a user to opt-out to avoid being charged is ridiculous.

I do however find Shapr3D very interesting to work with, and it looks like it might be the answer for my business.

Now I start trying the tutorials at the beginning (sketches) only to find the user interface being demonstrated is significantly different than mine. I’m guessing since I just installed the software, mine is more up-to-date. Yes, I’ll be able to work through it, but that’s not the point. I expect that kind of thing from freeware, but you want me to pay for this.

It’s not clear but, from your pricing schedule at least, it looks like I can’t buy a license once and upgrade if I need to, it looks like this is an automatic ongoing subscription requiring me to opt-out rather than approving charges to renew?

I find this highly unethical and it may become a deal breaker for this potential customer. I am a advocate for ethical corporate behavior and this is the exact kind of thing I fight against.

1 Like