Why is default view always backward

Hi when ever I start a new workspace the view is always with the front facing away from me. So, looking down on top with right face to my left and back face to the right. Any way to set this to something more intuitive? (For eg looking down on top, with front facing slightly left towards me and right facing slightly right towards me) ?

Hi - personalizing the views is something we have on our roadmap, but not something we will have in the near future. The current solution is a standard setup. We will allow/implement customization later on :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks Daniel, am curious what the logic is behind facing away from the user? I’m guessing I’m just missing the point and if I knew what the idea was I might not need the customisation?

Yeah, um… I have been drafting professionally for over 40 years. I started with manual drafting in mechanical engineering, civil engineering, and electronics. I moved into digital in 1987. I’ve done work in nearly any related field you care to name, including CAD/CAM, GIS, Digital Orthophotography, rendering, animation (2d &3d), etc.

I said all that to say this:
The standard for isometric views is Top/Right/FRONT. (and has been for well over 100 years…) Shapr3D is a revolution in ease of use and leverages the tablet/stylus mobile environment better than any software I have seen in over 40 years of work in the digital 3D market, but the Top/Right/Back default view drives me up the wall and is not standard in education or any applied field I can think of.

Please, please, please, please add an option or setting that will let the user rotate to a preferred orientation and then lock that view axis to the double tap on the cube. It would not be difficult to implement and would be fantastically useful as a project evolves and the user works on different parts of the emerging model.

Thanks for listening to an old guy!

4 Likes