X,Y,Z Axis

I am a little confused about the orientation of the axis configurations

As an Engineer, I am used to seeing Y - up being positive, X- right being positive, Z - vectoring to the lower left being positive.
Then Front View being Y-up as positive, X-right being positive, Z - positive out from the screen being positive.

I feel like it is somewhat opposite of that, or something that I’m not seeing. Can you explain the views related to Axis configuration

Thank you.

1 Like

Okay, so here is a confession: we tried to be smart, and we fucked it up.

The good news is that with the next release, it will be fixed. If you want to test the beta, you can sigh up here:

http://discourse.shapr3d.com/t/something-big-is-coming-and-we-cant-wait-to-share-it-with-you/?source_topic_id=1668
1 Like

LOL, that was my laugh for the day, Thank you.
Yes I’ll test the beta.

Also, very much looking forward to dimensioned construction drawings. (Dimensioned Top, Front, and Side views)
When I as at work, we had AutoCad, but privately it is $1500/year.
But now that I’m retired and building Stirling Engines on my lathe and milling machine. I have resorted to my old college training of T-Squares and Drafting Tables - haha

Good luck !
Bruce

2 Likes

This issue I tried to raise before as well and have since moved more over to adapting Onshape as my Ipad app of preference.

What on earth is going on with the world icon and the axis orientation presented in the menu. Grid and all seems just to weird and freaky for me to find comfort in this app, not disrespecting your app and efforts. However, you seem to freak more than I out with this.

Waiting to hear about this and will draw my conclusion based on a logical response or Onshape will gain my focus.

Thank god, we have fixed this in the upcoming version, so you can get back to Shapr.

Being issued some time in the future I gather?

It will be released (hopefully) this month. We haven’t really slept for weeks to release it.