How would you approach this design?

Hello folks,

A little bit of background info: I’m new to this CAD game. Although I’ve had Shapr3d for the last year, my designs have been very simple. But lately I’ve had cause to do something more complex (for my level of experience :laughing:) and I’m struggling to work out the simplest way to achieve it.

In my experience simplicity is something achieved by having lots of time doing something. Since I have almost none, I think I’m overcomplicating this design. On to the actual problem…

I have a hole in a piece of metal, and I’d like to fill said hole with a 3d printed design. The simpler I can make the construction, the faster the print, and the less likely there will be problems.

The hole could be covered at one end by a flat base, but at the other end, there’s a curve that using a flat base would mean I can’t attach the print very well (I’ll just tape it to the back side of the metal). Here are some pictures to show you what I mean, with various fillings and experimental prints :laughing:

My latest design attempt had a base that was flat at the front and curved at the rear, with a loft between the two points. I then tried to ‘sit’ a curved surface — like the black thing you see in one of the photos — on top of it. Which is really hard as the surface isn’t flat :thinking:

So my question is, how would you experienced designers go about this in Shapr? Here’s the share (erm, does this share the drawings too? I clicked the button to share 2D drawings — if it doesn’t please let me know how to share the whole lot if you’re interested in taking a look). This would be OK, but it’s looking like being a 20hr print :grimacing: It’d be preferable if it were simpler and therefore a shorter print.

Many thanks for any hints and tips you can proffer, I’ll be eternally grateful for the education!

–Mark

1 Like