Involute Gear

UPDATE: drawings are finally here: 4.0 - 2D drawings + new pricing

Hi All,

New to the forums, been using Shapr3D for about 2 weeks now, I’m both impressed and unimpressed at the same time, maybe I’ve been spoiled in my career using large CAD packages like NX, Catia, Solidworks etc.

My background is in gear design, so of course the first thing I wanted to try was to draw a gear! Well it wasn’t exactly as straightforward as I hoped, but it is possible to true a involute gear profile in Shapr3D (You will need to know some background in gear calculation to drive a spline feature in an involute profile, happy to give a tutorial here if it helps).

Some handy features I hope they bring into the software is to make more line feature properties available to drive other geometry. For instances, making a straight line equal in length to that of a reference arc length etc. Oh and some proper array functions jeez!

But it is definitely a fun experience never the less!

5 Likes

Awesome stuff! Would love to hear more about your experience. Especially about what you’ve missed, and how we could make Shapr3D better for you.

A tutorial would be amazing :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for the response Istvan.

Mostly my experience was very positive and I understand your companies software is still developing and adding features. For me, I’d really like to see Shapr3D as an all in one portable CAD package. Something I could take with me to a client, quickly mock up a design with them and then take that back to the office and create technical drawings from etc.

Just from my few hours mucking around, I’d like to see

• More sketch properties and features,