Local wall instead of infill/emptiness

TLDR: see the image. I need walls where it’s red. Don’t mind the hexagon, I tried cuboid as well.

Long version:
Hello. Newbie here; studied the forum and watched the tutorial, still need help.
I use Shapr3d and Cura for slicing; There is an area, which I need to strengthen as much as I can, so Cura considers this area as a ‘wall’ when slicing.
I tried adding a ‘new body’ cuboid/hexagon (seen on the image); this hexagon exists in Shapr3d ‘inside’ my frame, but it disappears in Cura.
As for Cura, I can only set wall thickness/layers for the whole model, but I do not need it to be adjusted for the whole model.
Basically if I could ‘fill’ my hexagon’s emptiness, and then ‘extrude’ through it with the screw holes, that’d be great.

Appreciate if someone gives me a direction to look or name a technique I should use.

It’s not a 3D model issue, it’s a slicer issue. In addition to setting wall thickness (number of perimeters) and bottom/top layers, you can also set the infill density anywhere from 0% to 100%. Most slicers default around 15-20%.

I use Prusaslicer and one of the features is the ability to create a localized user determined area to make changes to the sliced object. For example, if I set the infill density to 25% for the majority of the part, I can set a specific area and volume within the object to let’s say, 80% infill. Not sure if your version of Cura has such a feature.

1 Like

Hi Alex,

In addition to what TigerMike has said… It looks like you have 2 bodies where the hexagon is in your Shapr3d photo. If you subtract the hexagon body from the larger body, you will have a hexagon shaped hole. (When you subtract, keep originals of removed bodies). Export these two bodies as .3mf (not STL).