Projection to cylinder stretching on sides

I am new to Shapr3D. Over the past couple of weeks, I have completed a few designs with success.

Today I was experimenting with the Projection Tool and noticed that when I projected a dxf onto a vertical cylinder, the dxf did not wrap itself around the cylinder as expected, maintaining its shape. Instead, the dxf projected itself onto the surface and stretched the left and right edges like a rubber band.

Am I doing something wrong, or is this normal for an object such as a cylinder?

Unfortunately, Shapr3D does not have a “wrapping” function.
One could do so much more with such functions than just wrap something around a cylinder.
A lot of users are waiting for it, requests are made again and again, unfortunately the developers do not provide any information in this regard.

1 Like

Without wrap capability, Projection is of little to no use. I could accomplish the same thing by importing a dxf, making a copy and simply moving the copy to the surface of a flat object.

You can do a lot with the 2D projection, the function is certainly not useless. For designs that require wrap and embossing, I always use Fusion 360.
The same applies to copying along a path.

So if I understand it right, wrapping is a different function compared to the projection tool and this is not possible into Shapr3D but can be done with Fusion 360. Will this be a function that will be added to Shapr3D ?

Although there are many threads where users are requesting this feature, I have never seen an official response from a Shapr3D employee, so I guess that’s a long way off.

This is exactly the sort of thing they should have had a long time ago but instead they keep concentrating on 2D drawings. I thought this was supposed to be a 3D design application. Sorry, but this is a pet peeve of mine and I find it inexcusable.

1 Like