Spiral

I’m new to shapr and would like to draw a spiral shape line. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Hi fonthill,

EDITED:
This answer is for creating a helix, not a spiral.
Sorry, my mistake…see my second post below

Shapr3d has an elegant method for creating helixs:

1. draw circle of desired radius
  2. extruded circle to create cylinder
  3. pick point at intersection of seam and circle
    and commence line on surface on one side of seam
  4. without lifting pencil, cross over to opposite side of
    seam, to intersection of circle and seam at the other end of the cylinder.
  5. delete cylinder.

It can be a bit finicky, but persistence will pay off.

Hopefully with further development, there will be means to pick end points of helix line for adjustment.
And ideally an option for inputing the number of revolution of the helix (or alternatively: number of degrees i.e. 720 = 2 revolutions)

spiral

1 Like

Hi fonthill,

It is possible to make a spiral, following method above, except using a cone (revolved triangle)
instead of a cylinder.

Then use resultant spiral helix as rail for sweep of vertical line. And finally boolean subtract both top and bottom of swept surface.

It is unlikely that this will meet your needs, but it is the best I can do (also a newb’)

spiral1

Thanks James, I’ve been playing with it and now found a solution

:slight_smile:

That’s great, fonthill,

Can you explain how you achieved the drawing of a spiral. And maybe image of result

IMG_0202

1 Like

Hi Gensmenger,

Initially I also confused spiral with helix (common mistake…see above posts).

Achieving a spiral is not so simple.
Though there may be something I am overlooking.

Hello dotDash,

When drawing the diagonal line from top to bottom on the cylinder, not only do you not lift off with the pencil, but also the finger that is revolving the cylinder. Once you lift off with your finger the revolving stops. That took some practice (about 10 trys).